Digvijaya Singh meets Venkaiah Naidu for T Bill Support


congress-BJPNew Delhi: A day after the Union Cabinet cleared the Telangana draft bill, the Congress has now reached out to the Bharatiya Janata Party for support. Congress leaders Digvijaya Singh and Ahmed Patel met BJP leader Venkaiah Naidu for smooth passage of the Bill in Parliament. However, driving a hard bargain, BJP told Congress that it will back the Bill only if Seemandhra is adequately compensated.

BJP, which earlier backed the new state, is now questioning the manner in which Telangana is being created.

Telangana just a step away from reality as Cabinet clears draft Bill

The final draft of the Bill says that Hyderabad will not be given the status of Union territory and will be a joint capital of both the states for 10 years. The Seemandhra region (rest if Andhra Pradesh state) will have to build its own new capital in the next 10 years. The law and order of the joint capital, Hyderabad, will be handled by the Governor of Telangana for 10 years.

The Cabinet chaired by the Prime Minister Dr Manmohan Singh on Friday gave its assent to the Bill. The new state of Telangana will have 10 districts and the AP will have 13 districts. The Bill cleared by the Cabinet will go to President Pranab Mukherjee. It is likely to be tabled in the Rajya Sabha on February 12. If the Bill is cleared by the Parliament, the new state of Telangana will come into existence. The Andhra Pradesh Assembly has already rejected the Bill by a controversial voice vote.

The Telangana Bill is likely to be tabled in Parliament next week. Since the creation of a new state does not require a Constitutional amendment, a simple majority in both the houses of Parliament is enough to pass the Bill.

AP chief minister N Kiran Kumar Reddy has already declared that he is ready to be sacked if the new state is created. He is openly opposing the division of the state. The critics are describing the decision as a cynical political move and not a genuine response to the demand of the people of Telangana