Purandeswari to contest from Vijayawada


PurandeswariHyderabad: Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) Seemandhra unit has speeded up the process of shortlisting of candidates for the Lok Sabha and the Assembly elections. Even as leaders of the TDP and the BJP have been sending signals of possible poll alliance, the Seemandhra BJP leaders have sent a list of candidates for all the 25 Lok Sabha and 175 Assembly seats.  It is learnt that the committee has recommended former union minister D Purandeswari for the Vijayawada Lok Sabha seat. President of the Seemandhra unit K Hari Babu has opted for Visakhapatnam seat, while cine actor Krishnam Raju, Raghurama Krishnam Raju and S Vishnuvardhan Reddy will contest from Kakinada, Narsapuram and Hindupuram Lok Sabha constituencies respectively.

Speaking to reporters Haribabu welcomed actor-turned-politician Pawan Kalyan’s new party whose sole aim was to uproot Congress party to save the nation. Meanwhile, the party election committee met here on Saturday to discuss about prospective candidates for 17 MP and 119 MLA seats of the region.  Senior leader Ch Vidyasagar Rao said that they just started the exercise. The list would be finalised after a few more meetings, he said.