Elections 2014: Scam-tainted Suresh Kalmadi not in Congress’ third list


Suresh-KalmadiNew Delhi: Congress on Tuesday released its third list of candidates for the upcoming General Elections with Union Minister Kapil Sibal getting the ticket from Chandni Chowk seat in Delhi.

Other prominent leaders who were included in the third list are – Ajay Maken, general secretary AICC and In-charge Communication Department, who will contest from New Delhi seat, Partap Singh Bajwa will contest from Gurdaspur, Punjab. Minister of Corporate Affairs Sachin Pilot will fight from Ajmer.

Tribal leader and former Chhattisgarh chief minister Ajit Jogi has been given the LS ticket from Mahasamund, another veteran leader CP Joshi has been fielded from rural Jaipur and Krishna Tirath will contest the LS polls from North West Delhi.

While reacting on getting a ticket from Mahasamund, Jogi said that he was happy about Congress president Sonia Gandhi giving him a chance to fight the LS elections.

The Congress seems to have realised that the image of the party needs to be changed, which has been marred by various mega scams like Commonwealth Games, 2G spectrum scam, Coalscam, Railgate, Adarsh. The third list of 58 candidates for the Lok Sabha didn’t included scam-tainted Suresh Kalmadi, who was tonight denied ticket by the grand old party Congress which fielded young leader Vishwajeet Kadam in his place.

Former Team India captain Mohd Azharuddin, who is a sitting member from Moradabad in Uttar Pradesh, was shifted to Tonk-Sawai Madhopur in Rajasthan having substantial minority population.

Last week, Congress had declared its second list of candidates which includes Rita Bahuguna Joshi, filmstars-turned-politicians Raj Babbar and Nagma. Former Railway Minister Pawan Kumar Bansal was re-nominated from Chandigarh.

Congress had so far declared candidates for 261 seats and four of the 194 candidates declared in the first list have been changed.