Only Mamta Didi Is Remaining.. All Others Defeated


Remember the photo that Chandrababu took with the leaders of several major anti-BJP parties during the swearing in of the Kumaraswamy Government ahead of the Lok Sabha elections? The photo showed the exuberantly smiling faces of leaders like Sonia Gandhi, Rahul Gandhi, Mayawathy, Kumaraswamy, Chandrababu Naidu and Mamta Banerjee. This perhaps was the last of the happy photos they took together.

Barely 14 months after this photo, all except Mamta Banerjee arre down in the dumps. Chandrababu lost power and is now a poor shadow of his former self. He is a leader of the Opposition with just 23 MLAs. He has 23 MLAs just because YS Jagan Mohan Reddy is neither interested nor inclined to poach TDP MLAs. Sonia Gandhi’s party is back to the Opposition benches and her son Rahul has lost family fiefdom of Amethi. Kumaraswami too has lost his power on Tuesday evening. So, the only one left in the group pic with power is West Bengal’s Mamta Banerjee.

But, but municipal polls just round the corner and the Assembly elections two years away, her graph is already on the downslide and there is a massive exodus from her party into the BJP. Will she too join the league of her other colleagues in the group photo? Well! Let’s wait and see how things unfold.

Please Read Disclaimer